skip to primary navigationskip to content

Earth Sciences Course

The Department of Earth Sciences runs courses covering four years of undergraduate education as part of the Natural Sciences Tripos. The courses in all four years are called Earth Sciences, and the resulting degree is fully accredited by the Geological Society of London.

Some students come to Cambridge specifically to study the Earth Sciences, others come wanting a broad, but full scientific education, and many others come aiming to specialise in another science, often physics.

Introduction to Part IA Earth Sciences

Taking Part IA Earth Sciences in your first year allows you to progress further into the Earth Sciences should you want, or if you decide to specialise elsewhere it broadens your scientific understanding, in learning a new and interesting subject.

Introduction to Part IB Earth Sciences A and Part IB Earth Sciences B

Many students, enthralled by their first year Earth Sciences course, continue into second year taking IB Earth Sciences Course A, and/or IB Earth Sciences Course B, and then carry on into Part II (third year) and Part III (fourth year) Earth Sciences.

For those considering Part II and Part III in Earth Sciences


Note: All course materials can be found on the Earth Sciences Moodle course pages: