skip to primary navigationskip to content

Awards and prizes

Reekie Memorial Prize

In 2004, a group of John Reekie's former Geology students resolved to commemorate his life and inspirational teaching by founding an annual Geology Prize in the Department of of Earth Sciences, a place he always loved.

"We dedicate the John Reekie Memorial Prize to a man who shaped and changed our lives. The Prize is to be awarded every academic year, commencing in 2005, for the best fieldwork report submitted as part of the requirements for the Bachelor Degree."

Read more about John Reekie MA 1899-1982


The Reekie Memorial Prize was awarded in 2017 by the Part II Examiners to Carrie Soderman (St John’s)

Carrie writes:

"Change Islands is a small archipelago sitting a few kilometres off ‘mainland’ Newfoundland, Canada, with a population of only a couple of hundred people (and a few caribou) even in summer when the icebergs have stopped floating past and ferry access is relatively reliable. Geologically, it was a relatively simple area with only 5 main mappable units, although making a complete map and piecing together the structure was severely hindered by a lack of exposure and access due to dense forest and bog in the inland area. The area shows variation between volcaniclastic deposits, extrusive rhyolite, turbidites and sandstone. Beyond the geology, some of the most important things mapping on Change Islands taught me were based on learning to live in a new environment, with a half-built house, a lack of electricity or clean running water and the most welcoming community of islanders making the mapping project truly unforgettable."


Carrie Soderman - John Reekie Memorial Prize


 Reekie Memorial Prize Winners


Carrie Soderman

St John's Geology of Change Islands, Newfoundland

Emily Mason

Peterhouse The Geology of the Orcières Complex, French Alp
2015 Charlotte Jackson Jesus College Geology of the Chanaillet Ophiolite and the Lago Nero-Replatte Thrust Sheet, Montgenevre, France
2015 Matthew Varnam Christ's College The Geology around Villaminin, North Western Spain
2015 Matty O'Toole-Howes Trinity College The Geology of Northern Uto, Sweden
2014 Simon Matthews St Catherine's College The Fronalp Region, Glarus Alps, Switzerland
2013 Hannah Snellgrove Gonville and Caius The Geology of Southern Unst, Shetland Islands
2012 Joanna Hall Gonville and Caius Geology of the Waitetuna wstuary and Otonga hills area, Raglan, Waikato State New Zealand
2011 Tim Middleton Jesus College Geology of the part of the Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada
2011 Alicia Davies Queen's College The Geology of Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada
2010 Nicola Pocock Clare College The Geology of the Cape and Karoo Basins, 5km SE of Laingsburg South Africa
2009 David Neave Queen's College The Geology of the Vue des Alpes Region Southeast of La Chaux-de-Fonds, Neuchatel Canton, Switzerland
2008 Kirsty Dawkes Clare College Geology East of Matjiesfontein, Lainsburg Karoo, South Africa
2007 Robert Myhill Peterhouse The Geology of the Vourinos Ophiolitic Sole, Northern Greece
2006 David Wilson Jesus College Geology of the Broadford area, Isle of Skye

John Reekie

PDF document icon john-reekie.pdf — PDF document, 376 KB (385389 bytes)

Class of 2005 Award

The Class of 2005 mapping fund was set up by the graduating year group of 2005.

The fund was set up to award contributions to the Part II undergraduate mapping projects. Each year, the 2005 graduates decide which mapping groups to support based upon the students' completed applications forms.

"We as a group really appreciated the geology field trips and the friendliness of the department. We therefore felt it was appropriate to set up this alumni fund. Although it is only modest, we hope that it will grow through time and each leaving year group will consider setting up a similar fund."

Class of 2005

The Class of 2005 back: John Elliott, Jamie Knibbs, Niall Sayers, Jon Farrant, Dan Hobley, Jake Hall, Tom Russon, Andy Wilson; front: Helena Warrington, Bernadette Symons, Virginia Hooper, Caroline Sindrey, Sam Large, Sarah Lyle, Jo Ellis, Katie Whitters, Natalie Parker, Laura Teskey, Kirsty Harrison; not in photo: Anna Bebington, Ruth McKnight, Corin Hughes, Fran Barrigan.

2016 recipients

Alice Boyd, Bethany Jackson, Tessa Lee, Lauren Broadfield

Geological Mapping of the Iglesiente-Sulcis region of south-western Sardinia

2016 class gift report
Celebrating the last day of mapping


Nick Tubbs, Charlie Eardley, Fabian Braeuer, William de Falbe

Geological Mapping of Ornö, an Island in the Stockholm Archipelago, Sweden

Team - geological mapping of Ornö
The team, sat on banded gneiss. Left to right: Charlie, William, Fabian, and Nick

2015 recipients

Matthew Chadwick, Daniel Thorpe, Chris Matthews, Josh Kellie, David Sohr, Matt Ball & Tom Perkins

Geological Mapping of the Mamonia Complex in southwest Cyprus

2015 Mapping class recipients
Mapping the Mamonia Complex

2014 recipients

Laura Briggs, Krishan Patel & Holly Zhang

Geological Mapping of the Isle of Kerrera, Western Scotland

2014 Mapping class recipients
Geological map of South Kerrera, Inner Hebrides


Earth Sciences at Cambridge

Booking for the Cambridge Open Days on Thursday 5 and Friday 6 July 2018 is now open

Further information

Saturday 22 September 2018: A one-day conference bringing together international scientists to mark 200 years since Adam Sedgwick was appointed to the Woodwardian Chair of Geology.

Further information